Bahrain wins Arabian Gulf Cup

The team beat Saudi Arabia 1-0 last night

Bahrain wins Arabian Gulf Cup

Bahrain has won the Arabian Gulf Cup for the first time, beating Saudi Arabia 1-0.

Mohamed Al Rumaihi scored in the 69th minute, leading the Kingdom to victory in the competition.

Saudi Arabia have won the title three times in the past, in 2004, 2002, and 1994, while Bahrain have made it into the final four times, in 2004, 1992, 1982 and 1970.

There are eight countries in the Arabian Gulf Cup, and Yemen is now the only team not to have won a championship in its 49-year history.

In celebration, His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al-Khalifa has declared all ministries, government departments and public establishments will be closed today (Monday December 9) to mark the historic achievement.

Universities, public and private schools and kindergartens will also be closed today.

HM the King said, “The achievement attained by the Bahraini champions in this Gulf champion has brought joy to all the people of Bahrain and expatriates as well.”

He also saluted Bahrainis and residents who supported the national team during the championship, and praised the Bahrain Football Association for the team’s good preparation.

The championship was the 24th edition of the Gulf Football Cup.

Congratulations to the Bahrain national team!

Be the first to get all the latest Bahrain news, reviews and deals into your inbox by signing up to our free newsletter, click here to sign up.

More from Sport

It’s the first time the races will be held in the Kingdom

Bahrain needs to qualify for the 2021 Asian Basketball Cup

A star-studded awards ceremony was held for the 11th annual event

There’s more than BHD400 in prizes up for grabs

Thousands of runners will be taking part

The team took home 77 medals including 36 gold


Follow us